1. General
  2. Holiday Dates

 ACADEMIC YEAR 2020-2021

Autumn Term 2020

Monday 7 September - Friday 23 October

Autumn half-term: Monday 26 October - Friday 30 October (schools closed to pupils on these dates)

Monday 2 November - Friday 18 December

End of term Christmas Holidays: Monday 21 December  -  Friday 1 January 2021 (schools closed to pupils on these dates)

Spring Term 2021

Monday 4 January - Friday 12 February

Spring half-term: Monday 15 February - Friday 19 February (schools closed to pupils on these dates)

Monday 22 February - Friday 26 March

End of term Easter Holidays: Monday 29 March - Friday 9 April  (schools closed to pupils on these dates)

Summer Term 2021

Monday 12 April - Friday 28 May

Bank Holiday: Monday 3 May (schools closed to pupils on this date)

Summer half-term: Monday 31 May - Friday 4 June (schools closed to pupils on these dates)

Monday 7 June - Monday 26 July.

Additional holiday dates 2020-2021

For the academic year 2020-2021 there are 5 additional staff training days which are:

7 September 2020

30 November 2020

4 January 2021

12 April 2021

26 July 2021

 

 

Click here for future term time holidays.

Requests for absence from school in exceptional circumstances and Penalty Notices.

You are required under the Education Act (1996) to ensure your child attends school regularly.   If your child accrues 10 consecutive sessions of unauthorised absence you may be liable for a penalty notice (one days absence equals two sessions and a five day absence is equal to 10 sessions).

An unauthorised absence is any absence that the Head teacher has not given permission for or where an explanation has not been provided by the parents.

Parents must complete a request for absence from school in exceptional circumstances form and submit this to the school, allowing for sufficient time to enable the school to consider the request and inform parents of the decision.

Where parents do not follow the school’s procedures of submitting a request and simply remove their child without seeking prior approval, a warning may not be given and you may be liable for a penalty notice.

If your request is declined or you do not follow the correct procedure and you still take your child out of school each parent within your household may be issued with a £60 penalty notice for each child you have taken out of school. If a penalty notice remains unpaid after 21 days it will increase to £120. If after 28 days it remains unpaid you may be summonsed to appear before Magistrates to explain why your child has unauthorised school absences and you may be liable for a fine of up to £1000.

Copies of the absence from school for exceptional circumstances request form with the information for parents, the revised referral form and the revised code of conduct are attached.

 

What an absence means for your child?

 If a child is consistent at gaining 90% attendance it sounds pretty good but what does it mean?

90% attendance a year means they are missing the equivalent of:

  • ½ day of school missed every week
  • 4 weeks of school missed a year or
  • 1 whole year over the child’s school life

Research by the DfE suggests that a child absent from school for 17 days each academic year equals a whole GCSE grade drop in achievement.

What is the impact?

Even a few days absence can impact on a child’s progress:

Children with less than 6 days absence = 91% achieved at least 5 GCSE’s

Whereas those with more than 12 days = 36% achieved at least 5 GCSE’s

So, 90% is not as good as it first seemed.

Please help your child reach their maximum potential by ensuring they are at school every day. If your child is ill, please contact the school the first morning of absence. Medical evidence will be requested for any absence due to illness five days or more. If your child needs time off to attend a medical appointment, where possible try to arrange these outside of school hours. Absences for other reasons will only be authorised where parents can show the Head teacher exceptional circumstances exist.

If you have any concerns regarding attendance please do not hesitate to contact the school.

 

 We have produced a flow chart which we hope you will find helpful in understanding the process we follow when monitoring attendance which is available to download here.